Exactly what it says on the tin, a jumble. The first experiment I had with my slow cooker.

The great thing about my Morphy Richimg_3291.jpgards is that the container itself can be placed directly on the hob. It can be used to sear meat before cooking, or to sweat vegetables for the base of a stew. Using a lower heat avoids browning the vegetables, which adds a bitter aftertaste, and helps to draw out water, extracting and concentrating the pungent flavours of onion, garlic, chilli, ginger… whatever you choose to use. This technique, traditionally known as à l’étouffée strengthens the flavours that will percolate the stew as it simmers over a long period of time.

To my base of onion, garlic, and chorizo img_3294.jpgI added chopped sweet potato, carrot and chickpeas. The chickpeas, for once, I cooked from scratch; putting them to soak overnight in some water and boiling them for half an hour the next day. It’s important to cook raw pulses properly as many contain harmful proteins.

img_3295.jpg

Followed by some paprika, chipotle sauce and tomato purée. After 8-10 hours in the slow cooker, I chucked in some spinach and served it topped it with yoghurt.

img_3298

